KH_photo_insideAlthough I didn’t have a real vacation getaway this summer, I took full advantage of the weekends and had tons of fun with some friends and my family. I spent some weekends in NYC with friends and checked out some great new restaurants and lounges. I also spent a weekend in the Hamptons where I went to an event and even met Kim Cattrall from Sex and the City! For the Forth of July, my friend Erica and I headed down to Lake Norman in North Carolina and spent 3 days on her boat with her sister and two of our college friends. It was the perfect place to be for the fireworks (shot out right over the lake!) and for some relaxing on the water with the sun beaming down on us.

KH_photo_inside_2One of my best weekends was in Misquamicut, Rhode Island with my mom and my two younger sisters. It’s hard to get us all together especially with Erin (the youngest who just turned 17) as she would rather be with her friends or on her cell text messaging her life away! We spent the day at the beach (with no reception!) and then headed to Mystic for shopping, dinner, ice cream and a movie. The next day we went out to a friend’s boat and went tubing. Erin and I loved it, but my mother had some issues–she was out on the tube holding on for dear life for only 4 minutes! My sisters and I managed to get a great photo of her! It was so nice to just be with them all weekend and when we are all together, the laughter is unstoppable!

I really would have loved to get away this summer. Maybe a little trip back out to California for a few days or somewhere tropical with white sandy beaches, but I actually spent some time planning my upcoming trip with Habitat for Humanity. El Salvador, here I come! As great as a relaxing getaway would have been, I know that this trip is going to be the best adventure yet. I’ll be helping a family in need and putting my building skills to work (I guess I should start practicing!), but I also get to see a new place with a totally different culture and have a truly rewarding experience.

